The Alabaster Sock

We Will Fight the Threat with Fighting

(Chapter V)

Posted by Matt on January 13, 2011

Prologue
Chapter I
Chapter II
Chapter III
Chapter IV

“Big Sister, why do I get to go to the hall? No one else around here gets to.”
“Because you’re a special case.”
“Why?”
“When you were made, everyone from all over came to see you. They could see you were special, so some of them offered to let you in. I couldn’t turn down something so generous.”
“What makes me so special?”
“No one was expecting you. You were a surprise.”
“Is that the only reason why?”
“Well, some people may think different things about why, but that doesn’t really matter. I know you’re special, and I’m happy that other people think so, too.”
“Are my friends there special too, then?”
“Yes, in a way.”
“Are they special like me?”
“I don’t think so.”
“I didn’t think so, either. How are they special, then?”
“I think its because their Big Brothers and Sisters are very important. And they built the hall, too.”
“I didn’t know that.”
“Yes. They built just for there Little Brothers and Sisters, so you should feel very lucky you get to go there, too.”
“Why don’t they let anyone else in?”
“What?”
“Why do they only let special people in?”
“Because it’s a place that was built just for them, so they could get what they need.”
“Really? Because I was thinking that it doesn’t seem so special a place to me.”
“Do you not like it there?”
“No, I like it there. I like being with my friends there. But I like being with my friends here, too. I wish they could come with me and all my friends and me could be together.”
“Well, sometimes that’s just how things are.”
“Why is that?”
“I don’t know. I wish I did.”
“Oh…Are you important?”
“What do you mean?”
“You said my friends’ Big Brothers and Sisters are important. Are you important, too?”
“No, I don’t think so.”
“You’re important to me.”
“Thank you.”
“Yesterday, I kinda got mad at Jenny. She was saying mean things about the sweepers, saying they probably never wash themselves. I knew she was wrong! I told her to shut up!”
“You shouldn’t do that.”
“I know…I was mad, though!”
“We all get mad sometimes. But even so, we don’t want to hurt anyone else in any way, so we just have to learn to hold it in until it goes away.”
“Hurting people is always bad, right?”
“Yes, very bad. You should never hurt anyone else, and they should never you, either.”
“But what if they hurt someone else? What should I do then?”
“I don’t know for sure. I hope they never have to make a decision like that. Nobody deserves that.”
“Okay. That makes sense to me.”
“That’s good.”
“ Big Sister…are you happy?”
“Why would you ask something like that?”
“I don’t know, I’m just wondering.”
“Of course I’m happy.”
“Okay. I’m happy when you’re happy.”

One Response to “(Chapter V)”

  1. […] Yep another one: https://alabastersock.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/chapter-iv/ 6 days ago « (Chapter V) […]

Leave a Reply

 
