The Alabaster Sock

We Will Fight the Threat with Fighting

Christmas Post 7/12

Posted by Matt on December 21, 2010

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but the holiday season is a double-edged sword for me at work. On one hand, I don’t have to listen to the shitty store radio music that plays incessantly for an entire month. On the other hand, there is a new line-up of shitty store radio music that plays incessantly instead. And there’s less of it, so I hear the same songs (and different versions of the same songs!) over and over again all day, every day. There must be almost half a dozen versions of every Christmas classic, and I have listen to most, if not ALL, of those versions in one day, and then again the next day, and again and again. It’s maddening.

I mean, there’s gotta be more pleasant holiday music than just Jingle Bells, Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer, Frosty the Snowman, I Saw Mommy Kissin’ Santa Claus, and Silent Night, is there? Today I heard a dumb country Christmas song I never heard before, but that’s a rare experience. I don’t even hear the Beach Boys’ Christmas songs on there anymore, and they were basically my few break points from the monotony. It’s maddening.

Also, Jingle Bells, It’s Cold Outside, and Let It Snow are not really Christmas songs, just being about winter in general. So why do we only hear them during this time? Is it because outside December, no one wants to be reminded that it’s winter?

Leave a Reply

 
