The Alabaster Sock

We Will Fight the Threat with Fighting

Posted by Matt on October 27, 2010

I’ve been attempting to write something every day now. Apparently, blog posts haven’t been among those things. Oh well.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the future lately. What do I want to do with my life? Well, I already know what; the real question has always been what approach to it I should take.

Up until now, I had always imagined that I’d try to get a career doing something that is kinda-sorta like my main goal, or at least enough like it that I could be satisfied with it while I work on the other thing. For much of that time, I thought it’d be journalism; I thought, “Journalism is a sure thing! It’s something I can enjoy, and surely there’s a journalistic job out there somewhere!” You know, I really did think journalism would be the practical application of my love of writing, and that’s why I’ve spent so much time pursuing it.

But you know what I’ve realized? It’s not practical. Getting a job in journalism, any job, especially now, is about as pie-in-the-sky as most of my other career writing choices. So on that end, it’s completely fucked. I’m sure if you really work at it, you’ll be able to find something there, and I have no doubts that the people I know who are still pursuing that career path will be able to make something of it. But the other thing I’ve come to realize is that while I do love journalistic writing and being part of the world conversation, I don’t think I really love it enough to do all the things necessary to really get at it. I’ve come to realize that, for all the education and money-spending and moving and examination and field work I’d have to do to really get into that field…I just don’t think it’s worth it for me. It’s a roundabout way to simply support what I actually want to do…more free form writing. Fiction, non-fiction. Books. Television. Comics. Web stuff.

It’s occurred to me that I should probably just go straight to trying to do that, rather than waste my time going after something that I’ve convinced myself is practical. I don’t want to do something ‘practical’, though…I want to do what I want to do. And I now accept that, and I know what I have to do to do it. And that’s why I’ve been writing, and plan on writing lots more from now on. Something every day. It’s the only way I’ll get better, and it’s the only way I’ll ever get the confidence to move forward. I’m even thinking of trying my hand at National Novel Writing Month again after failing a few years ago. I’m much more…motivated?…now than I was then, so hopefully it’ll work out better this time. In any case, it’s a good idea to take part in it. Whatever forces me to work at this stuff can only be beneficial.

So there’s my life. Stay tuned for more robots, animals!, and getting mad at nerds on the Internet in the future.

Leave a Reply

 
