The Alabaster Sock

We Will Fight the Threat with Fighting

Posted by Matt on March 15, 2010

http://chud.com/articles/articles/22979/1/THE-CHUD-INTERVIEW-DON-HAHN-amp-PETER-SCHNEIDER-WAKING-SLEEPING-BEAUTY/Page1.html

I’m more negative on this – I don’t care if it’s hand drawn or computer drawn or live action combo or photorealistic. It’s about why use a technique to help you tell a story better. Is it better to tell the story in 2D or 3D or a combination? How do you tell the story emotionally? Whether it’s 2D or 3D I don’t think the audience cares – you might care as an animation geek – but I don’t think the audience cares, per se. They only care if you’ve transported me to a new world, have you told me a story I didn’t know about and have you made me laugh and cry? And if you’ve done all those three things you’re successful. I don’t know whether it’s 2D or 3D… who cares? Make a movie! Take a technique!”

-Peter Schneider, former Disney producer

Leave a Reply

 
