The Alabaster Sock

We Will Fight the Threat with Fighting

Gloves Are Off

Posted by Matt on October 2, 2009

So, they’re shutting down the local TV station. My dad and 38 other people worked there. 50 years of local news down the drain and dozens of lost jobs, all because the buyer got cold feet at the last minute over there (literally) $1 purchase. But, you know, I really don’t blame Bluepoint for this, or at least not as much. I blame CTV for dropping the station in the first place.

This is exactly the kind of thing I’ve been reading about for months and months now. The Canadian TV situation is an absolute disaster. You got the whole thing being run by these gigantic media conglomerates who have spent years crushing independent media, try their damndest to make as much money for as little work as possible, and now that we’re in a bad financial situation, they’re dropping local television like hot shit.

So yeah, fuck CTV. Fuck all the other big companies like it. And fuck the CRTC for letting these crooks get away with shit like this for so long.

One Response to “Gloves Are Off”

  1. […] all though that’s not exactly reassuring if actual TV writers are to be believed); and now I have had it affect people related to me. I know from my browsing that there are people fighting for opportunities for people like me, and I […]

Leave a Reply

 
